Small Projects

Personalised Pin Boards

2017-05-11 14.29.21

Hello! This week I’ll be showing you how to make your very own pin boards using cork mats!

What you’ll need:2017-05-11 12.12.26

  • Cork boards

  • Acrylic paint

  • Stamp (or you can draw your own design)

  • Paint Palette

.

  1. The first step is to decide whether you want to use a stamp or you want to draw your own design. I created my own stamp a while ago but I don’t have a tutorial on it yet. However, you can buy similar stamps from your local craft store. If you are designing your own pattern, using a pencil, trace out your design onto the cork boards.

    2017-05-11 12.21.53

  2. Next mix up your paint to the right shade that you want. I went for a light blue and white.

    2017-05-11 13.52.40

  3. Now, cover the stamp with the paint. If you drew your own design, use a paint brush and fill in your design with the paint.

    2017-05-11 13.52.36

  4. Then print your stamp onto the cork mat. On my first attempt I didn’t quite put enough paint on and it came out a little faded so on my next go I put a lot more paint on the stamp and it came out so much better.

  5. You can print onto the cork mat as many times as you like. Halfway through printing, I switched my paint, cleaned my stamp and started printing the white flowers in between the blue ones.

    2017-05-11 14.16.04

  6. I really like how the pattern turned out but I would recommend trying to plan out first where you would like the prints to be!

    2017-05-11 14.18.31

  7. To make the polka dot print, I bought a small round ended sponge and dipped this into both of the paints and dotted the cork mats at random.

  8. Leave the mats to dry for about an hour and then you can hang them up on the wall.

    2017-05-11 14.29.21

And there you have it! Your very own personalised cork boards! You can really make these into whatever you like, even by changing the outline shape! I hope you have fun making these!

2017-06-03 17.14.49

If you have a go, don’t forget to send me your makes on twitter @aBoxofButtons and Instagram @hann_lloyd. See you next week!

Leave a Reply

